Sunday, June 10, 2018

TRUMAN HIGH SCHOOL honors graduates at Farewell Assembly

Truman High School held what will be its final Farewell Assembly on Wednesday, June 6, honoring the Class of 2018. Next year, the building will be transformed into the all-new Taylor High School, merging the Kennedy and Truman student bodies into one.

The assembly, as usual, was held before a packed gymnasium crowd of students, friend, family and official guests. Highlights included some tremendous music from the band and chorus, special awards and a rousing edition of the Truman Fight Song led by a Cougar football jersey-clad Principal Melissa Skopczynski at the very end of the program.

The Taylor Public School Foundation for Educational Excellence presented scholarship to graduating seniors. Former educator Ken Nelson represented the foundation and conducted the program.

The awardees were:
• DeJanae Benton ($1,250) Charles Dickelman University of Michigan Scholarship
• Emily Conklin ($500) Dearborn Federal Credit Union Education Achievement Award
• Alex Kolnitys ($500) Educational Athletic Scholarship
• MacKenzie Raboczkay ($500) Mayor Rick Sollars Scholarship
• Chase Nester ($500) Taylor Changing Lives Scholarship
• Amber Thompson ($500) Taylor Changing Lives Scholarship
• Sara Sherazi ($500) Taylor Ministerial Scholarship
• Sara Timoficuil ($500) Taylor Public School Foundation Scholarship
• Sarah Woolley ($500) Taylor School District Alumni Association Scholarship
• Austin Gignac ($500) Total Community Credit Union Scholarship
• Cierra Jones ($500) Women’s Auxiliary of the Democratic Club Scholarship
• Tomi DaSilva ($500) Robert and Mary Merman Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment