Saturday, June 10, 2017

KENNEDY HIGH SCHOOL: More photos of the farewell assembly

KENNEDY HIGH SCHOOL: More farewell assembly photos

KENNEDY HIGH SCHOOL celebrates during farewell assembly

Kennedy High School celebrated its farewell to the Class of 2017 June 7 with a jam-packed crowd in the school’s gymnasium.

One of the big highlights of the event was the awarding of college scholarship coordinated by the Taylor Public Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence and its master of ceremonies, Ken Nelson.

The scholarships went to Ashley Nelson (Ann Robertson Drake Scholarship, $1,000); Rosemary Nnangoboya (Environmental Systems Scholarship, $1,000, and Charles Dickelman University of Michigan Scholarship, $1,250); Filomena Savastano and Kyle Wright (each $500 Educational Athletic Award); Phylisha Howell (DFSU Financial Award, $500); Jacob Brophy (Mayor Rick Sollars Scholarship, $500, and Grodman Cure Foundation Scholarship, $500); and Blake Hardin (Taylor Changing Lives Scholarship, $500).

Also awarded were Savastano (Taylor Ministries Making a Difference Scholarship, $500); Wright (Taylor Public Schools Educational Foundation Scholarship, $500); Houston James (Taylor School District Alumni Scholarship, $500, and Total Credit Union Scholarship, $500); Breanna Swain (Women’s Auxiliary of the Democratic Club of Taylor Scholarship, $500); Hosanna Kline (Angela Croft Scholarship for Educational Excellence, $250); Joseph Nagy (Taylor Police Auxiliary Scholarship, $500) and Jessica Greer (A.J. Webb Memorial Scholarship, $500).

The annual scholarships were a key part of a much bigger program for the events, which also highlighted awards for the Principal’s Advisory Panel, Link Crew, Key Club and academic awards.

As is tradition at Kennedy, the end of the program marked the change over from the Class of 2017 to the Class of 2018.

Congratulations to the Class of 2017!